Start Date: 12th December 2015, 14:00
End Date: 12th December 2015, 15:00
Next year marks the 150th anniversary of the worst mining accident in Victorian Britain and still the worst in English history. The Oaks Disaster killed over 360 men and boys in two large underground explosions on 12 and 13 December 1866.
Plans to create a memorial to all those killed in the disaster were started in 1872 by Reverend J. Kane, vicar of Ardsley, and a small group of miners. It then took seven years before the memorial in the churchyard of Christ Church was completed in November 1879. The memorial mentions 354 people being killed in the disaster, 35 of which are buried at Christ Church. Current research is revealing a far larger picture.
Join us for this fascinating talk on the disaster and the memorial on what will be the 149th anniversary.